New Set of Seydels - Video of Testing the Harps

In another thread, I was asking about a small set of harps for a beginner to be able play along with most Americana. With some help from @Slim and others, I chose the Seydel 1847 Silver set of 5 in the keys LF, G, A, C, D. I want to share my experience selecting a reseller, and purchasing the harps.

Since I had chosen Seydel, I found an authorized reseller on Seydels’ website, 16:23 Custom Harmonicas. I like that they play and repair harps, not just sell them. Prices were competitive with Sweetwater and Amazon,

I spoke with Greg Jones at the shop, expressing a concern about so many reviewers on Amazon returning harps of all brands because something didn’t work. Being a beginner myself, how would I know if it’s me or the harp? Greg offered to give each of my harps a good test on video, and send that to me. (For a small fee)

I got the video a couple of days ago, and thought some of you might like to see it. So with Greg’s permission I’m posting a link here for you to look at. The Video is here.

Of course all the usual disclaimers: I’m not affiliated, not compensated, YMMV, etc…

Also, I’ve never posted a link to a video before. Hope I did it right.

8 Likes

Great video @PineComb, came through just fine. I looks like your research and help from @Slim paid off finding and using 16:24 Custom Harmonicas! Great job and thanks for sharing . . .

4 Likes

Hello @PineComb,
really really good! Thank you very much. The sound of the A is so great, even when bending. So far I only have the Seydel Lightning A from Seydel, which I also think is great, even if it is not a cheap harp. Many greetings from Astrid

3 Likes

Hi @Butch. Yeah, I really like the more personal touch you get at smaller shops. Someone who really knows, uses, and repairs the product they’re selling.

2 Likes