Seeking advice for a single hand player

Hi All!

I am a beginner who started learning harmonica a few weeks with zero background in music theory & playing any instrument. It’s really nice to be able to join this warm & supporting community.

I am looking for some advice /insights in one-hand harmonica playing, as I have had a stroke before on my left body so my left hand are only able to do simple movements like open & close ( could not C grip the harmonica nor move precisely by left hand)

in this case, I would like to how far I could still go on the journy of harmonica, what tecnique/sound effect will I lost (for example I am now in the train sound lesson and I think I might not able to do the hand “wah” sound ) and is there any other technique to compensate them?

Also since I might have to continue the lesson with one hand (probably with the c grip )will that affect a lot on my learning in the ongoing lesson? If so, would you have any suggestions for me to adapt the situation?

Thank you everyone, who scroll through the end, I am not a native English speaker so please tell me if you feel a bit confused or unclear about the text, and I will try my best to address it better.

Hoping to receive all your comments

Thank you

8 Likes

Welcome @ryanchowmw !

Remember there are no rules to how you hold the harmonica, so while a lot of players, use their left hand, it is perfectly fine to use your right hand

As for the effect, I am not good at using my hands either, although not due to disability, but I like making effects with my mouth instead, f.x. the oy-oy-oy motion instead of the tremolo/vibrato, or even mouthing “wah-wah” Those are just my 2 cents, others may have different views

There’s always a solution, so keep enjoying the harmonica :slight_smile:

8 Likes

Hello @ryanchowmw,
What is your native language? Mine is :de: and many others here also have other mother tongues and use the translator. Somehow it works very well and if something is unclear, they ask.