SPAH Convention First time

I am so proud and excited that the article I wrote about my first SPAH convention was just published today in the fall issue of Harmonica Happenings.

Here is what I wrote:

MY FIRST SPAH CONVENTION
By Steve P Klein

I just attended my first SPAH convention.
In order to give you insight into my perspective, first I will tell you about my harmonica journey, and then I will tell you about my experience at the convention.

MY HARMONICA BACKGROUND

I’ve been playing harmonica since June 1969. I first learned from the book "How to play Blues harp ", by Tony “Little Son” Glover, and a Marine Band harmonica using the Key of A.
Following his instruction, I listened to, and tried to mimic, Little Walter and Sonny Boy Williamson 2. I also listened to Paul Butterfield and.John Mayall.

Fourteen years later, I picked up the Chromatic. My first one was the Hohner CBH 2016. It forced me to totally change my basic technique. When I tried blowing into it, I couldn’t get a single note to sound. In desperation, I read the instructions. (Typical male, I only read instructions if forced to.) I was a pucker player. It explained that instead of blowing from the front of my mouth, I needed to direct air from the very back of my throat. To locate the spot, I cleared my throat to find where the air should be coming from. Eureka!