Using a Metronome

I’m new to all of this. I downloaded a metronome and am wondering how to use it so it’s in sync with the lessons in module two. Is the “slow” setting at 60, “medium” at 90 and the fast at 120? Thanks so much for any assistance! :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hi
I think just keeping up with luke in the lesson is enogh going on for me. I have a mechanical metronome I use when playing without accomniment. Now I can play a bit I find a backing track to keep up with helps. Or you can find a karaoke version of a song and play along. The words help you keep in time.
I’m not sure if it’s the same for all beginners but I’m still prone to playing too slow.
Toog

2 Likes

@rooneymt - most metronomes have a “TAP” feature where you can tap to the pulse of a song and it will tell you the BPM.

(If it’s not readily apparent on your particular model, perhaps Google it. There are many free or cheap ones that have this feature.)

Hope that helps?

Aloha,
Luke

3 Likes

Thanks so much! My app has the tap feature :slight_smile:

I’m new to the site so I’m uncertain where the best places are to ask questions. For instance I’m on Module 2 lesson 8. I’m following you with the syncopation. I follow along clapping for the beats in the two bars and now using my metronome :slight_smile: However I don’t see how any of that relates to the part where we start playing the song. For the song you’re going -123 -123 -123 123 -123. How does this relate to 1&2&3&4&. 1&2&3&4& beats we practiced? I’m assuming this may be an “ear” thing. You mentioned earlier about listening to the tracks without the harmonica to practice? I didn’t see that on the site? maybe I need more time? Thanks so much for your assistance…all of this is pretty exciting!! And Aloha to you too! :slight_smile: Mike

2 Likes

The 5 chords are played over 2 bars:
Bar 1 coming on beat 1, the and of 2, beat 4,
Bar 2 coming on beat 2, and beat 3.