What are bends?

When I’m doing tabs it say do a bend (I’m a beginner) and I’m so confused

4 Likes

Hello @Darkminion21,
If you type “bending” in the search box at the top and hit “search,” you’ll find plenty of answers.
But be patient, learning to bend requires some development on the harp.

Regards Astrid :woman_in_lotus_position:

3 Likes

Hi @Darkminion21

Also don’t forget to search for “harmonica bend” on YouTube where many good videos explain the four types of bends and where they are possible on the diatonic harmonica. But do not expect to master them all as some can be quite difficult – even some professionals do not use all types of bends.

Regards,
– Slim :sunglasses:

3 Likes

Bends are what often create the MAGIC which can come out of a diatonic harmonica. It basically allows you to play additional notes “in between” the other “natural” notes on the harmonica.

@Luke has lots of excellent advice here and on Youtube, as do others.

The way I finally figured it out is that it all has to do with airflow. Reduced airflow with steady pressure. As both @AstridHandbikebee63 and @Slim say, it can take a lifetime to master, but it can be learned if you keep at it.

To me the whole trick is to draw as you do on the straw of a very thick milk shake. The thicker the shake, the lower you go, then as it thins out, you come back up to the original natural note.

At least that’s how I perceive the process. Mastering it allows us to get those deep bluesy notes the harmonica is so well known for.

Welcome to a fascinating world.

Have fun!

4 Likes