What are the different styles of harmonicas?

I’m new to the music world and I am looking to purchase a harmonica to get started.

What is the difference between C, A, B, D, etc. Style versions of the harmonica. I’m looking at the following on Amazon and see those options.

HOHNER 560PBXC Special 20 Diatonic Harmonica, C-major

4 Likes

Welcome to the forum, @JonaMusic !

The C, A, B, D, etc. … are the different keys of the harmonicas. @Luke recommends and uses a Key of C harmonica in the Beginner to Boss lessons, so a Harmonica in the Key of C was my first choice to start with. Others are better qualified to expound on this.

3 Likes

Hello @JonaMusic,
welcome at our place! As @burpsan points out, C, Bb, D, etc. are the different keys.
If you are just starting now, get the key of C first. It makes it easier for you to play the recommended tabs here in the BTB course or on other portals.
With a Special 20 you have a good choice. The Hohner Golden Melody is also popular.

But you will quickly find that every harp player has their own preferences for the numerous models. You will always find a “better” one :smiley:. And as mentioned before, there are models in every key… and then there are special keys and chromatic harps. :woman_shrugging:

To start, buy a harp that is good but not too expensive. In the beginning, your harp will be heavily used. Use the waiting time to find out more about the harp here or on the internet. You will need it!

When you start the game, keep it easy and relaxed, don’t overdo it. Your muscles and breathing have to get used to the game!

Many users are available here for answers to questions or problems. You will already find numerous answers if you use the search function above.

Best wishes and a good start to you Astrid :woman_in_lotus_position:

9 Likes