What harmonica is used in "He Ain't Heavy" performance?

Hello everyone! I am a newbie to playing harmonica but I’ve been catching on fairly quickly. I am looking to perform the Hollies song “He ain’t heavy he’s my brother” which features the harp on the intro, as well as a solo towards the end of the song. The original recording used a harmonica in the key of G. However I need to do the song a step lower. I found a YouTube live performance from 1993 where the group did exactly that. What I can’t figure out is what key harmonica the lead singer used. The transposed notes are as follows:

C-G-F-E-F-Bb-Bb

The original recording is fairly easy to play since all of the notes were either blow or draw without any bending. It does not sound like he’s bending any notes in the live performance but I can’t seem to find a harmonica where all of these transpose notes are blow or draw without having to do a serious bend to hit a b flat or an e note, depending on the key harmonica.

Here is the link to the YouTube video. Any help would be so much appreciated!

1 Like

Hello @Retrojoe,
I found this for you. See if it helps you. The song is really great!

Astrid wishes you lots of fun and success :woman_in_lotus_position:

2 Likes

Hi Astrid, and thank you for your reply. Unfortunately that is tab for transcribing the lyrics of the song in the original key to harmonica. I’m still trying to figure out what key harmonica the vocalist is playing the intro in the live performance which was one step down from what they originally did it in.

1 Like