What’s a good Brand to buy after Lee Oskar?

Hello all,

First of all, I am a beginner player. I finished Luke’s Beginner to Boss course and feel more comfortable around the harmonica. I’m working through the materials to fully internalize the techniques and songs, and am working through JP’s Blues course. So while I was going through Luke’s course, I bought 4 Lee Oskar harmonicas. I absolutely love them. However, I’m curious and want to explore more options. I’m very interested in improving tone without sacrificing the ease of play with the LO. Not that the LO has any issue with the tone, I’m just curious how it would feel to play something else. Any thoughts? I was scoping out the Seydel and the Hohner Crossover. At my level, should I splurge on these?

2 Likes

The Seydel models with brass reeds are very similar in tone and ease of playing to the Hohner Special 20 or the Lee Oskar harps. The Seydel models with stainless steel reeds are definitely different in both tone (which also varies according to the material used for the comb: plastic, wood or metal) and ease of play (I find that they require a little more effort than the brass reed harps, but that is not a real problem – and it is even better if you are a “hard” player who uses a lot of power in blowing and drawing because the stainless steel reeds last much longer than brass reeds).

I only have one Hohner Crossover and I think I bought a “Friday” model because the comb was poorly made and the reeds were a disaster. I have worked and worked on the gaps and reed shapes but am still not satisfied. Pobably my bad luck, but I personally will not buy another one (because they are not cheap).

The Hohner Marine Band Deluxe, on the other hand, is very nice! If you decide to try one, they are usually less expensive than the Crossover, but be sure to get the model with Deluxe in the name.