Wireless harmonica rig - Kohan Mike

What prompted me to join the forum is a new harmonica mic I bought to play wirelessly. I’ve been using a Shaker Mad-Cat for a few years with the long permanent 1/4" cable, but in the last couple years I’ve been going wireless for all my equipment.

For my bass uke I got Lekato 5.8GHz wireless pods, for my Shure gooseneck condenser mics it’s Xvive 2.4GHz phantom power wireless pods, a battery powered Zoom R16 digital mixer/recorder, and a small power bank for my amps.

I looked up wireless harmonica mics, but what I found was not convenient or compact enough. I then found a Shaker Dynamic XLR mic on sale at Guitar Center online for $87 and ordered it because I already had Joyo 2.4 GHz XLR wireless dynamic pods. When the mic arrived yesterday, I hooked it up and it worked perfectly, only 6.5" long. I also added a Velcro loop for my fingers to hold it better.

5 Likes

I guess using a wireless mic is not an interesting enough subject to warrant any replies.

1 Like

I get the impression that there aren’t a ton of members on this forum yet.

I use a Shure bullet with a guitar cable wired right into it. I cut one end off, stuck it through the hole where the stand is supposed to mount, and tied a knot on the inside to hold it in place. Unfortunately this creates a stress concentration point right where the cable enters the shell, so I have to cut the end off the cable and shorten it every year or so. (Probably more often if my band had more gigs)

This flaw is a bummer, but for me it’s not as bad as drilling another hole in the shell. I’ve thought a lot about using a wireless connection, but then I’d have to charge the batteries, which is why I haven’t done it yet. I’d hate to have a battery die during a gig.

Now that we’re talking about it, how often do you charge your batteries? And how often do you play? How much playing time do you get from one charge? Maybe I should take another look at using a wireless connection.

2 Likes