Judge my harmonica chops

Hi everyone! I feel like I might be opening up a can of worms here, but I would very much appreciate any feedback on my harmonica playing. :blush:

You can find a short introduction of me as a forum member here: Introduce Yourself! - #1097 by jago

I have two short videos from jam sessions I performed at recently. Iā€™m still in the process of learning music theory, how to play in different positions, and how to play alongside other musicians. Iā€™m self-taught and play by ear completely.

I had never played with any of the other musicians featured here before so itā€™s definitely all improv. Any pointers on my technique? Timing? Thanks for having a listen and letting me know what you think. I donā€™t know too many harmonica players so would appreciate any honest feedback.

Amplified: Watch 7D41B1CBA75A21F5E407EB2C912BF5A1_video_dashinit | Streamable

Acoustic: Watch vid | Streamable

Thanks! :pray: :musical_note::musical_note::musical_note:

6 Likes

Hello @jago,
I think both ideas are very good. Be sure to keep going!

Regards from Astrid :woman_in_lotus_position:

4 Likes

Sounds good to me.

5 Likes

Very cool @jago. I donā€™t have any technical knowledge to provide advice, but it sounds great. You obviously enjoy playing, so keep at it.

4 Likes

Hi @jago

I too feel unqualified to offer much ā€“ mainly because you are already so good:exclamation:

My preference is the acoustic recording. It seems to me to have not only more interesting phrasings, but also sharper timing.

Keep up the good work,
ā€“ Slim :sunglasses:

4 Likes

Thanks so much @Slim @PapaCurly @toogdog @AstridHandbikebee63! I really appreciate it.

Itā€™s hard for me to evaluate my own playing honestly. The same drive that keeps pushing me to improve my skills, also makes me continually see myself as a total novice.

Really great to get some quality feedback (and also positive reinforcement).

6 Likes

Sounds great to me. I like the acoustic the most.

5 Likes