Moving forward

I’ve been doing this course for about three months now, playing about an hour a day and finished the single note module last week. I’ve moved onto the bending module and, predictably, i’m finding progress to be much slower. However, I take heart in the fact that last week I could only bend the -1 but can now achieve bends on -1, -2, -3 and -4, albeit not consistently and rarely in tune. Because im a stickler for getting things right I was determined to get the -4 bend better before moving onto the next lessons for spoonful and smoke on the water but it’s getting slightly frustrating because all im doing currently is making horrible sounds for an hour each morning and i miss playing songs and learning new techniques. As i see it I have four options besides just sticking with the current lesson in the bending module:

1. Accept that it’s going to take time to get perfect bends and just continue through the next lessons in the bending module even though I dont sound great.

2. Restart the single notes module for a second pass and split time with that and bending. That would be good for reinforcing what i’ve learnt but not present new techniques.

3. Skip ahead to the octaves module and split time between that and the bending module. This would keep my interest alive by learning new techniques but i dont know whether the ability to bend is necessary to take this module

4. Sign up to J P Allens Blues course and work through that whilst continuing to perfect bends with on the B2B course. Im a massive fan of blues (its the only style i really want to play) so i’m intrigued by this course but i’m unsure whether the different teaching styles might conflict.

I’d really appreciate thoughts from anyone who has reached a similar stage in their harp journey and hear what paths you took

4 Likes

Hello @chris3,