Popper embouchure

Hello Guys!
This is Emerson and I am totally new to harmonica…I did not even have one! I am just starting to learn for fun. I have never been so interested in harmonicas because it is so associated with blues and I need to be honest I am not soooo fond of blues (I like it but it is not my primary choice). I know some blues people will say a lot about this but I mean no harm, and respect anyone’s choice…I just don’t like it too much, sorry. As always, we need a spark to start something; for me was John Popper. After watching some (and listening to) of his music I understood that it is possible to play harmonicas in different styles like pop, rock, and country which due to my lack of info I thought wouldn’t be so pleasing. Anyway, I am a bass player and started a long time ago but as a self-learning guy, I developed a lot of “bad habits” on bass so I want to avoid this kind of stuff since I am learning a new instrument from scratch. So my question is about embouchure. Since my goal is to play Popper “pop style” and more pop/rock songs, I am just wondering about which type of embouchure. I know Luke teaches and uses the mouth purse technique (which deep relaxation mouth) and I believe it is what Popper does as well so is it a no-brainer. The question though gets more complicated when actually it is “expected” as a harmonica player to play some blues (which I am totally fine with, and I am open to this) but if you want to play some old blues you definitely need to play with tongue blocking because it is only possible with that technique. I know the answer is simple: just learn BOTH techniques right? but one argument from a tongue blocking guy is that it is really hard to keep changing techniques in the same song so in this way makes more sense to learn tongue blocking since you basically can do everything that lip pursing can but not the other way around. So now you know my goal is to play like Popper, play more pop songs style but at the same time so